Skip to content Skip to navigation

CELCOM AXIATA Malaysia Open 2018

Axiata Arena
Tuesday, June 26, 2018 (All day) to Sunday, July 1, 2018 (All day)

The Malaysia Open is a HSBC BWF World Tour Super 750 tournament and is one of only five Super 750 level tournaments on the Tour.

Held since 1937 as an annual badminton tournament and hosted by Badminton Association of Malaysia, the tournament has been hosted in various locations in Malaysia including Johor, Sabah, Sarawak, Penang, Pahang and Kuala Lumpur.  

The Malaysia Open became one of the 12 BWF World Superseries tournaments in 2007 and was upgraded in 2014 to a BWF World Superseries Premier tournament. Since 2008 except for 2013, 2016 & 2017), the competition venue has been the Putra Indoor Stadium, now known as the Axiata Arena.  

The tournament has been a popular international tournament in world badminton and it has helped to showcase local stars with home grown heroes reaching the podium on many occasions over its long history. Most notable of these is Lee Chong Wei who won the men’s singles title in 2004 with his compatriots Choong Tan Fook and Lee Wan Wah winning the men’s doubles title in the same year.  

Since 2008, Lee Chong Wei has won 11 Malaysia Open men’s singles titles with only two Chinese players, Lin Dan in 2017 and Chen Long in 2015 taking out the title. 

Event Type: