Skip to content Skip to navigation

HKFC champions of the Craigengower Cricket Club 120th Anniversary Badminton Invitational Tournament

The Craigengower Cricket Club 120th Anniversary Badminton Invitational Tournament was held on the 29th June 2014. The tournament consisted of teams all playing each other with each match consisting of 5 ties. Four teams took part in the tournament: Craigengower Cricket Club (CCC), Hong Kong Football Club (HKFC), Kowloon Tong Club (KTC) and Ladies Recreational Club (LRC).


The HKFC team rolled out straightforward wins over KTC and LRC. The deciding match came down to HKFC against a strong CCC team. In tense match, Ryan and Steven gave the advantage to HKFC by winning their veteran doubles tie. Patrick and Ivan were next up in the open men's doubles and held three match points. Three match points were saved by CCC to give a sudden death scenario. The CCC pair succumbed to the tension putting an easy shot into the net leaving HKFC 2-0 up in the match. Next came Emily and Michelle for the ladies doubles against a fomidable pair of ex-national players and, similar to previous two ties, this was also tightly contested. Emily closed out the final point to give HKFC an unassailable 3-0 lead over CCC. CCC won the final 2 ties leaving the final score 3-2 to HKFC.

A notable mention goes to club juniors Emily and Ka Leung for their massive contributions to the victory.

Special thanks to all HKFC team members: Peggy, Michelle, Emily, Katrina, Amanda, Ka Leung, Ivan, Leo, Patrick, Matthew, Jaff, Ryan, Terry and Steven as well as Badminton Society Committee and Society members for their support.